top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

Words from our Peers

1) Where are you from? / When did you know that being a fashion designer was your talent?

I'm from Saint Louis Missouri. In the beginning of my journey I started out customizing denim shorts and jackets as a way to create extra revenue. The business grew instantly and I knew I wanted to do more with it. However I did not have the slightest clue how to sew. I had never even touched a sewing machine before. I was determined to further my business. So I taught myself how to sew. Once I learned to sew I fell in love with the process of creation. I'm a strong believer of you have to fall deep in love for the process of creativity. In doing anything creative it is a labor of love. It becomes tedious sometimes. Especially when you don't have the slightest idea what your doing. Over time I feel in love with the process of learning about the technical and educational side of fashion design. I knew I was finally living within my calling because God has blessed my small business. Khandi Ray is far from where I want to be, however I appreciate the journey and continue to persevere.

2) What do you love about designing?

If you had a chance to work with a designer who would it be? Why?I love bringing the finished product to life. Seeing the garment you made on the model with hair and makeup. So to see the model walk down the runway with my creation is the indescribable.If I could work with any designer it would be Alexander Wang. He is my muse and inspiration. He barely knew how to sew yet still preserve his line into a worldwide brand.

3)What inspires you're creativity ?

I am inspired by colors, shapes and life experiences. I'd like to describe Khandi Ray as edgy, chic and effortless.

4) What advice could you give upcoming designers ?

I would tell them to never give up and preserve at all times.

You can visit Khandi Ray's website to shop and get the latest dopest fashion at www.khandiray.com

Also you can follow her on / Instagram, Facebook, @khandi_ray / Pinterest @khandiry

  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Tumblr Basic Black
  • Instagram Basic Black
bottom of page